Yoga Image

Yoga Ashtanga and Yoga Kundalini

Yoga Ashtanga and Yoga Kundalini are the most common and useful yoga for everyone’s health.


Yoga is an old discipline from India. It is both spiritual and physical. Yoga uses breathing techniques, exercise and meditation. It helps to improve health and happiness.

Yoga is the Sanskrit word for union.

Pantanjali was a pioneer of classical yoga. He defined yoga as “the cessation of the modification of the mind”. (stopping changing the mind).

A person doing yoga will move from one posture (called asana) to another. For example, the “sunsalutation” contains 12 poses of anas, one after the other, and is said to help balance body and soul. The sun-salutation is popularly known as “Suryanamaskar”.

Yoga Ashtanga

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a style of yoga as exercise created by K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century, often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga. 

He claimed to have learnt the system from his teacher, Tirumalai Krishnamacharya. The style is energetic, synchronizing breath with movements. The individual poses (asanas) are linked by flowing movements (vinyasas).

Jois established his Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute in 1948.The current style of teaching is called Mysore style after the city in India where the practice was originally taught. Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga has given rise to various spinoff styles of Power Yoga.

Yoga Ashtanga

How good is Ashtanga yoga for you

Aside from an increased focus and sense for your body, Ashtanga Yoga is also good for those who need a cardio workout because the movements can be done swiftly and the practice can effectively raise one’s heart rate. Ashtanga Yoga also works well for stress relief, and for burning fat.

Is Ashtanga yoga dangerous?

Ashtanga Yoga practice is very hard, physically demanding and so dangerous for anyone who cannot do lotus properly. It is so often connected with things like knee-pain and inflammation. For the students who are not so flexible, the practice can cause the repetitive stress syndrome

The different limbs are:

1. Yama

2. Niyama

3. Asana

Asana is the third limb on of the path that Patanjali defined. It does not mean Hatha Yoga postures, but the ability to sit unmoving with a straight spine for long periods of time. (Hatha Yoga postures can help one to do this, if one is physically able to practice them.)

4. Pranayama

Pranayama means control over energy in the body. If one can control one’s energy, then one can withdraw it from the outer senses and up the spine, thereby raising one’s consciousness. Traditionally pranayama is used to mean control over the breath, but it is actually controlling the energy in the body via control of the breath.

5. Pratyahara

Pratyahara is the interiorization of one’s attention and thoughts.

6. Dharana

Dharana is concentration; one-pointed focus.

7. Dhyana

Dhyana means steadfast meditation on God or the Higher Self.

8. Samadhi

Samadhi is complete absorption in the Infinite — literally “oneness.”

There are two stages of samadhi: sabikalpa and nirbikalpaSabikalpa samadhi is conditional and temporary; the ego is still there subconsciously and can come back after the meditation is over. Nirbikalpa samadhi is unconditional and permanent; one cannot fall after obtaining nirbikalpa samadhi; the ego is gone for good.

Yoga Kundalini

Kundalini yoga (kuṇḍalinī-yoga) derives from kundalini, defined in Hindu lore as energy that lies dormant at the base of chakras the spine until it is activated (as by the practice of yoga) and channeled upward through the ch in the process of spritual perfection. 

Kundalini is believed to be power associated with the devine feminine. Kundalini yoga as a school of yoga is influenced by Shaktism and Tantra schools of Hinduism.

 It derives its name through a focus on awakening kundalini energy through regular practice of mantra, tantra, yantra, yoga or meditation. Kundalini yoga is often identified as the most dangerous form of yoga because of the involvement of subtle energies.

An uplifting blend of spiritual and physical practices, Kundalini Yoga incorporates movement, dynamic breathing techniques, meditation, and the chanting of mantras, such as Sat Nam, meaning “truth is my identity.” The goal is to build physical vitality and increase consciousness.

Yoga Kundalini

How good is Kundalini yoga for you

Kundalini Yoga is a magical science that uses sound, mantra, energy healing, exercises and meditations to release trauma from the energetic body, which surrounds the physical body. Kundalini Yoga helps us recognize that abundance is our birthright and living from our hearts is the surest path to prosperity.

Is Kundalini yoga dangerous?

The worst case scenario is that kundalini yoga has an effect, but a very negative one. Psychotic episodes likened to panic attacks and LSD trips have been reported. While for some these symptoms can last for hours or days, others have experienced an altered physical and/or mental state for years.


Yoga is a systematic practice of physical exercise, breath control, relaxation, diet control, and positive thinking and meditation aimed at developing harmony in the body, mind, and environment. Most people are familiar with the physical poses or yoga positions but don’t know that yoga involves so much more.

Try to learn some yoga. Like Yoga Ashtanga and Yoga Kundalini are the most famous yoga style done worldwide. Yoga plays a very important role for everyone’s health.

Yoga Ashtanga and Yoga Kundalini can be learned online or by taking classes by different experts of yoga.

You may also like:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: